Some Home Decor

Lauren has an assortment of altered canvases in her room and I wanted to create something to add to her collection.  Scraptastic club had a challenge for a home decor item but I didn’t know what to do.  I’ve been dying to try some encaustic (wax) canvases for some time.  Yesterday, Heidi Swapp had a video of a very simple creation using wax and tissue paper so I decided to give it a go.   There was one tricky moment when the tissue/cardstock got stuck inside my printer  but overall it was actually very simple and I love how it turned out, Now, I’m going to be trying adding layers of wax and colors and stamping.

For this I took an 8 1/2 x 11 piece of chipboard and covered it in Fancy Pants script paper.  I stamped the wonderful Kaisercraft butterfly stamp on the bottom RHS the TEchnique Tuesdays days of the week and some Heidi Swapp swirls in the other corners.  Then I misted with MAya Road and Tattered Angels mist.  Then I heated up some clear wax and spread it on top of my ‘canvas’

I created the butterfly and saying in PSE and printed it out on regular tissue paper (attached to paper so that it can go through your printer).  I placed the tissue images on my base and added more melted wax to hold them in place.  Later I went back and used my heat gun to even out the wax a little and added a few glitter pieces.

One thought on “Some Home Decor

Leave a Reply

